2023 Ned Kelly Awards Announced!

Book Brief | Sep 2023

The Australian Crime Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2023 Ned Kelly Awards.


The Australian Crime Writers Association says of the shortlists, that the Best Debut Crime Fiction entries this year were incredibly strong with a wide range of new Australian authors, of all ages and backgrounds, choosing the crime genre for their first books. As an industry association, it is heartening to see so many talented first time writers being introduced to readers.

The Best True Crime entries were totally compelling and not only showcased astounding storytelling but also dogged and professional investigative work. This year’s Best International Crime Fiction (published in Australia) was again a Who’s Who of global crime writing.

The flagship award, Best Crime Fiction, with 88 entries, was a treasure-trove of excellence. The shortlist of Aussie authors includes some of the highest selling and most popular authors on the global crime writing stage.

The 2023 winners are:


Best Debut Crime Fiction

Wake by Shelley Burr
Read a Book Review of Wake


Exiles by Jane HarperBest Crime Fiction

Exiles by Jane Harper

Read a Book Review of Exiles



Best true crime

Betrayed by Sandi Logan


Best International Crime Fiction

The Lemon Man by Keith Bruton


Reader Reviews

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List